An earlier survey for a subdivision at the top of the harbour near Dawson’s Creek had not been completed. Between 1852 and 1854 Charles Heaphy the Provincial Surveyor and artist…

Continue Reading

Firewood and building timber was being harvested as early as mid 1840’s early gatherers included Captain Sullivan who established himself at Mahurangi West. Soon after the Mahurangi Purchase the government…

Continue Reading

In 1840 by Felton Mathew, visited the harbour as part of his quest for a new site for the capital of the new colony. He was realistic and saw the…

Continue Reading

The first Europeans to explore the Mahurangi were looking for Flax and Timber. The British Navy came seeking spars. Spar ships would drop cutting gangs of up to 300 seamen…

Continue Reading

Māori first occupied our land and there are widespread defensive ditches, pa sites and kumara pits to be found on most of the headlands around the harbour. The South Eastern…

Continue Reading

Mahurangi is the name used by our association and name of our harbour, but was at one time used as the name of all the land from Te Arai Point…

Continue Reading
Close Menu